Public Defender Liana Cohen would give anything to have one client, just one, whom she can believe in. Dozens of hardened criminals and repeat offenders have chipped away at her faith in herself and the system. She needs someone to reignite her passion and salvage her career. Enter imprisoned felon Danny Shea, whose unforgivable crime would raise a moral conflict in an attorney at the height of her idealism – and that hasn’t been Liana in quite a while. His conviction on appeal, Liana is assigned to his case. Danny’s astonishing blend of confidence and vulnerability intrigues Liana, who finds him intelligent and magnetic. And she believes he’s innocent. When Liana wins Danny’s release from prison, she finds herself confronted by a man who is single-minded in his determination to be with her. As their attorney-client relationship transforms into something less than arms-length, Liana’s whole world is turned upside down. She risks losing everything when Danny’s attentions intensify just as her boyfriend, Jakob Weiss, proposes marriage. Liana must decide who she is.

Scents and Sensibilities

​​by Reyna Marder Gentin

Fifty is just a number. Yet, as my big birthday approached, I became hyper-aware, and critical, of the toll that age had begun to take on my body.

I confided in a friend six years older than I my concern that I was showing my age. As if it weren’t bad enough to have to color my hair every five weeks to ward off the gray, my skin felt dry, sallow. Although I inherited my mother’s “good complexion” — no significant wrinkles yet, I was sure that the skin tags and the laugh lines and frown lines would soon be on their way.

My friend advised me to buy some fancy face cream — “miraculous,” she said. It came in a small ruby red jar and had a French name. She also raved about a particular body oil. 

 “I leave the bottle in the shower. I put it all over myself when I’m still warm and damp. It will make your whole body smooth and supple and you’ll look ten years younger.” In my state of distress, who could resist?

 I ordered the miraculous face cream and the must-have body oil. The face cream was lovely, but it was so costly and so rich that I use it sparingly and still have three-quarters of it left more than three years later. 

 The oil was something else. The first time I put it all over me, I was disturbed by the mild yet persistent scent of sesame. I almost stepped back in the shower to wash it off, but figured I would give it a chance.  When I spoke to my friend later that day she asked me how the products were, and, apropos of nothing I had said, she confided: “The scent of the oil is so me. It’s always there, in my bed, on my clothes. My husband says he wouldn’t recognize me without it.” 

 To continue reading, click here.

E176 Professional Pivot with Reyna Marder Gentin

Is 50 too late for a professional pivot?

Maybe you are looking for a professional pivot. Have you lost interest in your job? In your career? Your industry?
Are you just showing up at work hoping to get through another day?

I hear from so many of my listeners that the scariest part of a pivot in your 50s is that you will, in fact, become a new person. Gasp!

When that happens, it means that you will be saying goodbye to that person you used to be. Our guest offers a beautiful perspective on moving
on to something new with fond feelings for your past.

To listen to full Podcast, click here.

“Unreasonable Doubts” Finalist for
Outstanding Debut Novel

Unreasonable Doubts Audiobook is narrated by Tavia Gilbert.
To learn more about Tavia visit her website taviagilbert.com.

Click Here to read Tavia and Reyna’s Q & A session.

You can also find Unreasonable Doubts on audiobook at
other fine audiobook sellers. Click on speaker icon below
to here a smapling of the audiobook.

Writers are always told to — write about what you know, and Reyna Marder Gentin takes this well-known piece of advice to heart in her intriguing novel Unreasonable Doubts.  Relying on her knowledge from the years she spent as an apllelate attorney representing criminal defendants, Gentin crafts a masterful tale.

Mothers Always Write, June 2019.

Unreasonable Doubts is a promising debut. An intriguing blend of romance and legal
suspense from a new writer to watch.

― William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob.

Can head and heart possibly make the scales of Justice balance, or must one prevail?
Reyna Gentin’s first novel, Unreasonable Doubts, is not only intelligent, but deeply moving.
She knows the law and she knows her characters. Well done!

― Susan Isaacs, author of Compromising Positions, After All These Years, and As Husbands Go.

Fans of Allison Leotta and Lisa Scottoline will appreciate the domestic and romantic elements as well as the legal intrigue.

― Booklist

A wonderful debut novel, it’s a legal thriller with substance — a page-turner that will trigger introspection and reflection.

― David Lat, Editor-at-Large, Above the Law, and author of Supreme Ambitions.

 

For more reviews, and news, click here.

Read Reyna’s interview with David Lat here!

Read Reyna’s interview with Sandra Fluck, author/publisher of bookscover2cover.com, here!

“Unreasonable Doubts” in bookstores now! 
Click here for the press release and reviews.

Book launch on November 17, 2018 • Scarsdale, New York

Join My Mailing List

* indicates required

Copyright © 2017 ReynaMarderGentin.com